Reflection

                                    Image

  A popular response spoken to students when they ask why they need to learn about history is “If you don’t learn it, you won’t know it. If you don’t know it, you won’t realize it is happening and history will repeat itself.” This statement proves true when learning history from a textbook but also from current events. Being aware of current events happening within the community is not an easy task. Naturally, it is easier to relax in a comfort zone we have chosen and to let situations progress to disorder, so it requires a conscious effort from the members of the human community to stay informed, critical and active. I have learned that people tend to isolate themselves in an environment where they feel comfortable and chose to ignore what makes them uncomfortable, even if it is taking place right across the street. As people we cannot exist alone or secluded in groups because doing so allows for people to forget that others, who may not be a part of their group, are struggling. Forgetting or choosing to not acknowledge that others are struggling leads to social injustice.

      I learned this when I secluded myself into the safety net of Duquesne’s campus. People I had just met, such as my roommates, as well as family and friends I have known for years, cautioned me about what parts of the city of Pittsburgh to avoid. “When you leave campus, don’t go to the right” or “Don’t go into the Hill” were some of the more common comments I heard, so naturally I was afraid of this ominous place known as the Hill. Then through the opportunities of the Honors University and Community Seminar I had to step out of my comfort zone. I was introduced to the Hill with the rest of the class, which help relieve any anxiety I was feeling prior to the trip, and was able to visit a few prominent businesses in the community for an assignment. I also became a part of the planning and research for the August Wilson House project. Learning about August Wilson, his life and his success, opened the door to learning about the history of the Hill as well as the current struggles and potential of the Hill.

     This learning matters because learning about my neighborhood and surrounding communities through this class has made me aware of what is happening around me. I have extended my comfort zone further than just my campus. Being educated and cautious is always a better route than being ignorant and fearful. Learning to become an active member of the surrounding community is important for the growth and progress of the area. Understanding the history is crucial to understanding the area’s current state and potential for growth. I plan on continuing my education in graduate school and don’t plan on staying in the area. Moving to a new area will be difficult but removing myself from my comfort zone immediately and becoming an aware community member could be as beneficial as becoming comfortable here on campus.   

       In light of this learning I hope to embrace a more active role in not only in the University community but also the surrounding areas. In addition to the mainstream newspapers available in my area, I will begin reading other sources of news that provide different perspectives on the same current events. I would like to find opportunities to volunteer my time to an organization in the Pittsburgh area. By volunteering, I am hoping that more opportunities to become involved in my community will arise. Overcoming my fears and taking an interest in the wellbeing of others has become more of a priority now that I have done so during this class.

-Laura

 

Leave a comment